One Love Manchester

Hi all,

If you follow my social media, you’ll know that a couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to go to Ariana Grande’s benefit concert – One Love Manchester. 

The concert was absolutely magical, and although people around me would have hated my singing, I enjoyed every moment of it. 

Now I’m not going to sit here and write all about the artists and what songs they performed because you probably know all of that information.

I’ve been a fan of Ariana for years, but never so much of a fan to actually try to get tickets to a show. But this one was different. When I heard what had happened on May 22nd, my heart ached. Those people had started to target children… that could have been me, or my friends, or anyone. 

As a 23 year old woman, it must have hit Ariana hard, to know that they were all there to see her, and their nights came to a terrible ending. My heart went out to not only those involved, and their friends and families, but to Ariana and her team, who must have been devastated that it had happened after all the time and effort they had put in to make this tour amazing. 

I still can not believe the courage she must have had to put One Love Manchester together so quickly. And the courage of all the other musicians who joined her that evening, in Manchester again, to show their support and unity. I am thankful that the Manchester Metropolitan Police allowed the event to go ahead, and Michael Carrick, who so kindly moved his football match so that it made the police’s job a little easier.

Ariana must have some beautiful connections in the music industry to get the artists she did to perform in Manchester, but the one I want to talk about is her friendship with Miley Cyrus (Another childhood idol of mine). Yes, it was Ariana’s concert, but Miley had such an amazing stage presence, you couldn’t help but smile. Her involvement in the Happy Hippy Association made her so prepared for this, and I hope Ariana is grateful for Miley as a friend, for she made us in the audience happy and relaxed, and all come together. 

Some people were there for closure, from the original concert; some people were there to show their support for the victims and Manchester; others to see some of their favourite musicians play; some sat at home watching the event live on BBC, or whatever country they were in. It doesn’t matter what category you fall under, it matters that you were there, doing your bit. Together we were united, showing our strength. Even more so, after the events in London merely hours before the benefit concert was due to start. 

I will always remember that weekend, my journey up to Manchester, the concert, and the friends I made, all there for the exact same reason. And I’m so glad I got to spend it with my best friend. 

Please enjoy some photo’s I have of the concert. There aren’t many because I took mainly videos. 

Speak soon,

Abbie!xx

Leave a Reply

